Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Filezilla FTP issue

FIXED
Brugmansia
Dabbler

Filezilla FTP issue

The PlusNet instructions to set up this FTP client don't recognise the message, "Insecure server, it does not support FTP over TLS." appears whenever you try to connect to the website server. Furthermore, the free version of the software does not have an option to access a, "General", tab on the settings menu where various web site sources indicate TLS can be turned on. Is this an issue with the free version of Filezilla or what?

I'm only a novice and simply wish to upload a personal website created in the now obsolete Muse but I would like to overcome this issue with a member's help.

8 REPLIES 8
bobpullen
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Fixes: 316

Re: Filezilla FTP issue

What FTP space are you trying to use? The Plusnet Homepages servers?

Open Filezilla, click File > Site Manager, and configure the server access as below (replacing 'username' with your Plusnet username): -

pn_ftp.jpg

When you try and connect, you will need to accept the warning about plain FTP.

Anything uploaded to the remote server will need to be under the 'htdocs' directory.

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Product Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵

Brugmansia
Dabbler

Thank you so much for your prompt advice - most welcomed.
You've restored my faith in that I've done all you suggested but stopped when I got the warning message about the connection being insecure!
How bad is that insecurity and can it be improved ?
bobpullen
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer

Fix

The Homepages platform doesn't support FTP over TLS which is why Filezilla is grumbling. I don't know of any plan to enable it either.

You can think of it like entering information into a website form that runs over http://, rather than https://

i.e. the data being sent backwards and forwards isn't encrypted so in theory can be intercepted/read by somebody/something else.