cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Is CGNat stopping my e-mails communicating with Plusnet SMTP server?

FIXED
MastenB
Hooked

Is CGNat stopping my e-mails communicating with Plusnet SMTP server?

Hi, a recent upgrade to my Gigaclear broadband seems to have stopped MS Outlook e-mails getting through to the relay.plus.net server. Gigaclear explained that my router now uses CGNat to create my IP addresses, and this could be the problem. CGNat has replaced the usual DHCP dynamic IP address. Gigaclear's idea is that I would need to revert to a static IP address (at a cost) which I don't fancy due to potential security issues and who knows, maybe an unknown impact on the VPN provided by our employer for home working?

Does anyone recognise this particular issue, and is the Gigaclear idea workable? This has been a voyage of discovery for me, I am no expert!

Thanks

15 REPLIES 15
Baldrick1
Fixes: 420

Re: Is CGNat stopping my e-mails communicating with Plusnet SMTP server?

Moderator's note:
Thread moved from Broadband to Tech Help

Moderator and Customer
If this helped - select the Thumb
If it fixed it,  help others - select 'This Fixed My Problem'

corringham
Seasoned Champion
Fixes: 16

I don't see how CGNAT would affect connection to relay.plus.net - lots of connections use CGNAT (e.g. most mobile phones) and they work OK.

It is possible that your new IP address is in a blocklist used by Plusnet.

Do you get any indication of why the connection isn't made - any error messages at all?

Presumably you have authentication set up if you have been using Gigaclear for a while.

BTW there are no additional security risks from using a static IP - I don't know why people think there are. However, it shouldn't be necessary anyway.

Townman
Superuser
Superuser
Fixes: 162

AIUI CGNAT results in lots of users appearing to be using the same IP address.  Thereby there is...