cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Why do I need to connect an office 100m away on shared electrical supply to hub 2 router?

dukesvet

Why do I need to connect an office 100m away on shared electrical supply to hub 2 router?

I’m not a techie so need simple advice please. I have 3 locations all on the same electrical supply but not in the same building to connect. I am going to get a Hub 2 router and full fibre 900mb broadband package. Potentially I could cable between the access points but not easily. Can I use the electrical system and plug something in. What sort of speeds might I get and can I create 3 Wi-Fi zones?  Gif I used supplies from 2 different supplies through 2 different electricity meters how do I set up the connections then? Thank you

10 REPLIES 10
corringham
Seasoned Champion
Fixes: 16

Re: Why do I need to connect an office 100m away on shared electrical supply to hub 2 router?

When you say 2 different electricity meters, so you mean you have 2 connections from the grid, or do you mean you have a sub-meter (not the electricity company's) for your office?

If the former then you won't be able to use powerline adapters, and in the latter case results may be slower than you want. In the past I have used powerline adapters to go about 150 yds through 4 distribution boards, so it is possible. But the speed was less than 20Mbps - which was fine at the time as I only had a 10Mbps broadband connection. As you have a 900Mbps connection you probably want better speed.